Yale Silk Road Database
The Yale Silk Road Database gathers over 6,000 images takes across the Silk Road region by faculty members during site visits between 2006 and 2009. The visits were led by...
Tag: Databases
Jun
09
2010
RevisteroVirtual.com
by Bilingual Librarian
No Comments
RevisteroVirtual.com is a relatively new site that offers online access to a number of major Colombian magazines. The site, which launched in 2009, offers access to about 30 titles, including...
Apr
04
2010
Hispana
by Bilingual Librarian
No Comments
Late last month the Spanish Minister of Culture, Ángeles González-Sinde, announced the release of Hispana: colecciones digitales de archivos, bibliotecas y museos españoles. Hispana aggregates over one million digital items...
Feb
19
2010
Americas, Archives, Databases, Images, Latin America, Libraries, Library \ Book Tourism, Maps, Open Access, Public Libraries, World
Biblioteca Luis Ángel Arango
by Bilingual Librarian
4 Comments
While I was growing up in Colombia libraries were very scarce, the only library one ever heard mentioned was the Biblioteca Luis Ángel Arango (BLAA), which I finally got to...
Feb
13
2010
Travesía
by Bilingual Librarian
No Comments
Travesía is a website put together by Spain’s Ministry of Culture’s General Subcommittee on the Coordination of Libraries. Basically the sites aims at promoting collaboration among Spanish librarians, and offers...
Feb
12
2010
Database of Bookbindings
by Bilingual Librarian
1 Comment
The British Library is always up to something interesting; I just discovered their Database of Bookbindings. This is an entire online collection dedicated to the bindings of books held by...
Feb
03
2010
El Colegio de México, Revistas
by Bilingual Librarian
No Comments
My friend Alberto Martinez, who works at El Colegio de México, is always collaborating on great projects, the most recent one has resulted in free access to all the journals...
Oct
08
2009
Vincent van Gogh; The Letters
by Bilingual Librarian
No Comments
This beautiful database set up by the Van Gogh Museum, gathers all of Vicent van Gogh’s letters, including facsimiles of the originals, transcriptions, translations, and the art work connected to...
Sep
29
2009
Wildlife Finder
by Bilingual Librarian
No Comments
Yesterday the Guardian posted an article about a new database the BBC put together called Wildlife Finder. The site gathers hundreds of video footage, from over 30 BBC programs,of wild...
Sep
27
2009
Atlas Database of Exhibits at the Louvre
by Bilingual Librarian
No Comments
The Atlas database at the Louvre provides access to all the items exhibited at the museum, some 30,000 items. This database was first up and running in French, and currently...