Tag: Databases

Feb 21 2008

Archives, Databases, Europe, Libraries, Manuscripts, World

Looted Cultural Goods

by Bilingual Librarian

No Comments

This morning the New York Times had an article about two parallel art exhibits displaying art looted during WWII. The exhibit is a collaboration between France and Israel in aims...

Feb 14 2008

bi/multilingual, Databases, Digital, Europe, Language, Libraries, Maps, Open Access, Photographs, World

The European Digital Library project has been working since September 2006 on creating a portal to gather digital collection from National Libraries around Europe, including Belgium, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Liechtenstein,...

Feb 13 2008

Databases, Digital, Law, Libraries, Open Access, USA

Harvard Faculty Embrace Open Access

by Bilingual Librarian

1 Comment

Yesterday The Harvard Crimson published an Op-Ed by Robert Darnton, Carl H. Pforzheimer University Professor and Director of the University Library, who has set the groundwork to create an Office...

Feb 06 2008

Databases, Manuscripts, Open Access, USA

Stephen J. Gould bequeaths his collection to Stanford

by Bilingual Librarian

No Comments

The late Stephen J. Gould has bequeathed his entire collection to Stanford University, who intends to digitize much of it and create a “hyperlinked” version of it. An article in...

Jan 25 2008

Archives, Databases, Open Access, USA, World

Memory Archive

by Bilingual Librarian

No Comments

Memory Archive is an online project that is gathering memoirs from everyday people. The site allows you to search for memoirs indexed for particular words (either in the title or...

Dec 21 2007

Databases, Digital, Europe, Open Access, Technology, USA, World

Million Book Project

by Bilingual Librarian

No Comments

As the year comes to an end the Million Book Project has reached its goal of scanning and making freely available a million books! This project is spearheaded by the...

Nov 16 2007

Databases, Digital, Libraries, Technology, USA, Web 2.0

WorldCat Local

by Bilingual Librarian

No Comments

Not too long ago OCLC rolled out a new OPAC (Online Public Access Catalog) of sorts. This new tool known as WorldCat Local offers a three tiered display of cataloged...

Sep 13 2007

Databases, Open Access, World

The Red List

by Bilingual Librarian

No Comments

The latest update of the Red List of Endangered species is bringing attention to a number of new animals now threatened with extinction. According to the World Conservation Union, we...

Jul 31 2007

Databases, Digital, Libraries, Open Access, Technology, USA, Web 2.0, World

Open Library

by Bilingual Librarian

No Comments

Open Library is a new project starting out in San Francisco, CA, but global in scope. It aims at creating a single database for all book ever published! This massive...

May 22 2007

Databases, Digital, Law, Libraries, World

Copyrighting Traditional Knowledge

by Bilingual Librarian

No Comments

A recent file for copyright of Birkam yoga has attracted new attention to the Indian government’s efforts to safeguard their traditional knowledge. The Indian government has put a group together...